Skip to content

Wunder Baum (a poem written about many moons ago)

March 23, 2015

I try to hidemagic_tree_forest_fresh
my modesty
as I climb into
the taxi, outside
where my life now lives

and as I slink into the seat
you greet me in the guise
of a thurible
magic tree
your smell,
part upholstery,
part lynx,

you
waft and layer the air,
like softest cotton shift;
the anachronistic scent
of our summer
spent swiftly
roaming around each
and the other.

My eyes mist
as your adolescent face
crazes across the rear-view
mirror: a waterspout,
gathering recollections
like condensation
along the window seals
each triple set
of double swings
reawakens your relic
rocked shut inside me

yet

when all at once
I readjust
to the familiar
musk of what might have been,
I finally exhale
to add my breath
into the drift
of what will never be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

