Skip to content

The eyes don’t see what the heart don’t feel – for Friday Fictioneers, 20 March 2015

March 23, 2015

© Copyright - Rachel Bjerke

“There’s nothing here to look at” he said, “just moss and grime and leaves”

He didn’t realise that there was a whole world, just through those trees. Walls like heavy arms, wrapping themselves around my imagination, leaves like discarded clothes; this place mottled with it’s own past and my thoughts projected on every surface like a sunday screening at the cinema.

“There’s everything” I whisper, as I bounce my tread a little, testing the ground, reaching out my hand to feel the vibrations of all, of nothing, and of me in this place with this guy who doesn’t see…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2015 11:58

    To really see it all we have to have another level of perception…

    • March 23, 2015 12:12

      And sometimes our perception is more heightened, and at other times it isn’t. I think to ‘see it all’, all of the time would be too much for our minds. I remember seeing a documentary which explained how we have had to learn to filter our the majority of stimulus because literally, in modern (busy) times especially, our brains would simply combust if we took in everything.

  2. March 24, 2015 04:14

    I liked how you ended the story. Some people don’t see, some just don’t get it. 🙂

    • March 24, 2015 06:55

      And I guess I wanted to try and capture that – sometimes you can explain but it won’t necessarily change the way they view things.

  3. March 24, 2015 11:41

    Could be the best FF I’ve read yet: well done.

Leave a Reply

