Skip to content

Feet up, chin up – for Friday Fictioneers

June 9, 2014

I sit across from the hustle and bustle of the dinner table; I want some peace but I feel so hemmed in. The papers and unfinished crosswords seem to shout at me ‘what have you ever done – you can’t even fill in the blanks’. Yuk.

I see my feet, flocked in some kind of animal skin and warm fluff – I wonder if that’s my whole life. Just warm fluff and mush, lulled into a sort of content coma. But inside. Inside I dream of volcanos. Passion. And distant beaches. The simple life of fishing boats, and no ties…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2014 15:35

    Dear LazyLiner,

    First off, welcome to Friday Fictioneers.

    We all have dreams, don’t we? May it ever be so.

    Hope to see you back next prompt.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. June 9, 2014 18:56

    Sounds so familiar! Was I talking? 🙂

  3. June 10, 2014 02:59

    So true, we all dream of that place where we escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life.

  4. June 10, 2014 08:40

    Dear LazyLiner, Good story and it does make you feel that you’ve been here before. Oh well, if it’s true there’s nothing you can change from the past. Welcome to Friday Fictioneers – glad you’re here. Thanks, Nan 🙂

  5. June 10, 2014 13:06

    Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. Good piece. Many of us have been there. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

  6. June 10, 2014 14:33

    That was a beautiful take on the prompt. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

