Skip to content

Real too real – Magpie Tales 223

June 8, 2014

Voices
like smells
float through
space
and into my heart

which beats
out of synch
which causes
the clots

which float
– tiny boulders
blocking the way
between the past

and today

the voices
echoes and x-rays
Of lives lived
(of words) we’ve played
and thrown away.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2014 18:45

    I really enjoyed reading this. It has wistfulness, poignancy, even a tone of regret? If it is you exorcising personal worries, then I hope that it helped.

    • June 8, 2014 20:22

      Thanks for your comment – and glad you enjoyed reading the poem. I have a close family me we in hospital, and so they were kind of the inspiration. Sometimes all it feels I can do is use a difficult situation and try to carve something creative from it.

      • June 8, 2014 20:35

        I know exactly what you mean. I went through this year when two very close family members were hospitalised, one after the other. Wishing you well.

  2. June 8, 2014 20:12

    Beautifully written; thanx for sharing.

  3. June 8, 2014 22:04

    tiny boulders
    blocking the way
    between the past
    and today

    Words can certainly do that, on or off the record…

  4. June 9, 2014 00:44

    The pain of lost words. May we recover them again and again…

  5. June 9, 2014 01:54

    I especially love that last stanza… beautiful!

  6. June 9, 2014 03:48

    played and thrown away… that was good

  7. June 9, 2014 10:42

    An intriguing meshing of prompt with reality.

  8. June 9, 2014 15:16

    This is a brilliant write. I’m sorry for the circumstances that generated it though.

  9. June 10, 2014 17:04

    A touch off mystique when you say (of words) we played and thrown away.
    My first attempt at Magpie.
    Nice to meet you ~ Eddie

    Clouds and Silvery Linings

  10. June 11, 2014 00:14

    Perhaps some words should be thrown away and forgotten. I hope you are on the mend.

  11. Tess Kincaid permalink
    June 14, 2014 20:03

    Yes voices like scent…I love that…

Leave a Reply

