Skip to content

Flirty Flowers – for Magpie Tales

March 14, 2011

Gosh, I can’t believe it has been 6 months since my last post! And I had been doing so well. I can only account my blog lapse to a desperately cold winter and the copious amounts of crafts I have been engaged in over those freezing months.

But with buds a-bloomin everywhere, I took a gander at Magpie Tales this week and here’s my offering.

Flirty Flowers in the Springtime

I lay my head
on the slick blades of grass
with its just washed
lino slipperyness
and offer my cheek to
the hairy petals
of the violets
which punctuate
the undulating signs
of imminent spring

I can almost hear
the pop of the plant
as it pushes through
the soil, shouting
to be seen
a tease as it open and closes
under the sun and my gaze
and tickles
my skin,

my nose
struck by the initial
scent but then struck
dumb *

I lift myself off
the once odourous ground
and wander around
until I may recover
to sniff again.

* One quirk of some viola is the elusive scent of their flowers; along with terpenes, a major component of the scent is a ketone compound called ionone, which temporarily desensitises the receptors of the nose, thus preventing any further scent being detected from the flower until the nerves recover.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 19:05

    The pop of the plant……really liked this, welcome back to blogland!

  2. March 15, 2011 00:37

    Liked everything about this piece…and thanks for the botany lesson!

  3. March 15, 2011 02:11

    smart write..

  4. March 15, 2011 03:37

    Interesting information – and a delightful springy read!

  5. Helen permalink
    March 15, 2011 16:47

    Very nice ….

  6. March 15, 2011 20:21

    “…slick blades of grass
    with its just washed
    lino slipperyness…” this is great.

    Poetry24…where news is the Muse

  7. March 16, 2011 16:29

    It takes a sensitive soul to hear a sprout shouting. The plants call to me, too. Lovely!

  8. March 16, 2011 22:33

    Thanks for all your comments, everyone. What a lovely return to the blogosphere! 🙂

Leave a Reply

