Skip to content

Homily

October 31, 2010
tags:

Here’s my poem in response to the Big Tent Poetry prompt from October 25:

Homily

My mind sweeps
around
latent chocolate wrappers
and dusty table tops
shoes scattered
like fish food floating,
coats in disarray
like skittered boats
at sea on unsettled days

my mind plods through the hall
catching the dust balls
and flinging them against the walls
and skirting boards
as my eye searches
to find a place

for me,
in a flat
where even discarded hair
can find a place
of rest along
the edge of rooms,
I have none.
No enclave to me
personal

every cup
pen
duvet
second
shared
this is a home

but whose?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. irenethebean permalink
    December 5, 2010 03:23

    What I like about this is that I can see it, I can feel it, you use your words to recreate the experience of being in this exact moment rather than describing it to us.

  2. Scent of my heart permalink
    January 22, 2011 19:02

    Nicely done! I like the question on the end! The image is stunning!

  3. Scent of my heart permalink
    January 22, 2011 19:02

    Greetings! How is your weekend?

    I am Blaga from Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    You are invited to join us this Sunday for our Monday Poetry Potluck Week 19, we are open 8pm, American Central, will remain open for 72 hours, yet, you get better traffic when you link in early.

    if you fall short writing a theme related piece, feel free to share 1 to 3 old poems…Best Regards.

    You have a lovely blog, your poetry radiate and it is our greatest pleasure to have you being part of our growing community. Hope to see you in..sign in to follow our blog if you can!

    We value your support and would be more than happy to answer your questions and assist you with possible concerns…

    Best Wishes for your day.

    Week 19 Theme: Rules, regulations, and laws!

  4. February 18, 2011 20:46

    Greetings, how are you? hope you well!
    Hope to see you in Poets Rally Week 38,
    Love your poetry talent and looking forward to a profound experience with your input.

    Cheers.
    xoxox

  5. February 18, 2011 20:47

    well done entry…
    keep it up.

Leave a Reply

