Skip to content

Man-made haven

August 31, 2010

Here’s my effort for this week’s Magpie Tales

Man-made Haven

I scurry
through the undergrowth
dense like bricks
against my nimble, youthful limbs
pushing from darkness,
to daylight and once again into shade
my progress, like strobes
cutting the trees into second flashes
a flickerbook forest
moving and alive.

I crash
through the undergrowth
vociferous like booming tom toms
twigs snapping like snares
against my flailing feet
desperate to approach in silence
yet instead announcing my arrival
in beats and thrashes

until finally
I smash through the undergrowth
push my face against the glass
and smear these words
with every heaving breath:
home at last.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 19:51

    Nice piece. Very nice.

  2. August 31, 2010 20:05

    boy-you were in a hurry…well done!

  3. September 1, 2010 15:32

    I loved this, it brought a warm smile to my lips as you found your way home.

    CJ xx

  4. September 1, 2010 18:02

    haha. feels good to get there eh…love your descriptions and words…most excellent magpie!

  5. September 1, 2010 19:34

    Well written.

  6. September 1, 2010 22:30

    Glad you are safe! A fine read!

Leave a Reply

