Skip to content

I am published, hear my roar!

August 14, 2010

Hi everyone – sorry I’ve been a bit slow to publish in the past couple of weeks but have been very busy with work and then having a week off (which was also busy!).

However I am happy to announce that my work will be appearing in 3 journals over the coming months:

The Flaneur – an independent art and culture newspaper has one of my poems on page 9. It’s a great little read, available for the bargain price of £2.50 for a paper, and £1 to download to your computer.

Four and Twenty will feature one of my poems in its August edition, as well as featuring my poem “What I’ve learnt” as poem of the week on 14 September 2010.

Clockwise Cat has chosen one of my poems for Edition 20 of it’s journal out in the Autumn – as soon as it’s on the site I’ll let you know.

It’s been a good few months for my writing, and I have to say that this blog has been the reason for it. Having this blog and making sure that I regularly update it, has given purpose to my writing and helped me to remember how much I love crafting words into something which other people can appreciate and enjoy. In the past I have had blogs, but tired of them very quickly, and I think part of the problem was that I was trying to write long prose posts, because I thought that’s what people do on blog. What I should have realised long ago was that poetry is the way I filter my world and experiences and I should have just gone with that, rather than try and extend my comments. So I’m happy to have a poetry blog which occasionally might feature a longer prose piece, and that helps me to continue to share what I see with others.

It has also been great for me to log on to this blog and see that people have actually been taking the time to read my work. I have always been something of a poetry recluse, preferring to write in a fever and then have my work sit under the bed for years on end. Having the blog, and seeing people reading and liking it has not so much boosted my confidence (though of course it has helped) but more just reminded me that despite what so many people say, poetry is relevant and appreciated by a great many people. Knowing people are reading my work has also introduced me to a lot of other people’s wordly offerings and this has helped to stimulate my own critical and creative senses which is never a bad thing. So thanks everyone for dropping by and reading my ramblings.

And I guess the final thing that has really helped has been the myriad of poetry forums which exist online, such as Magpie Tales and Big Tent Poetry. These sites (and all the others which are listed in the “What I like to read” links to the right) really do help to spark off the brain, and get me out of that navel gazing state which my poetry can sometimes dawdle into if I don’t pay attention. There’s nothing wrong from using experience and writing that way but I also like to be stimulated by an external prompt which then excites my neurons and helps me to filer what I have felt in a new and different way.

So I think what I’m trying to say is generally long live the blog, long live the bloggers and long live the forums who help to stimulate people like me to have something to type about 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 15:18

    congratulations! this is a great achievement for sure.

Leave a Reply

