Skip to content

Modern prayer wheels – for Magpie Tales

July 19, 2010
tags:

My response to another great prompt from Magpie Tales this week.

The heat
of what could be
tirelessly tries to
revolve the wheels

I yearn
to purify my thoughts

the turn, clockwise
an attempt to stabilise
my mind
against my pride (om)
– be patient – (ma) my lust
the (ni) passion’s weight
(pad) as my ignorance knocks
against

(me)

hum.

I think of the meaning
of the jewels
which sparkle
like fish eyes
rising
my hands dragging
on the path
of method in madness
and wisdom of trying
trying
and failing
to transform

let me contain the essence
of my learning
generous with myself.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. soulintention: signed .............bkm permalink
    July 19, 2010 23:03

    Love it, love the title…and the plea at the end to be generous with myself….compassion for self is a must….bkm

    http://signedbkm.blogspot.com

    I moved from wordpress….

  2. July 20, 2010 01:26

    Oh, yes, compassion for self is vital! I love the mantra/meditational style of this.

  3. July 20, 2010 02:21

    ah yes- we are our own worst critic and enemy…being compassionate to
    yourself isn’t easy to do…….good magpie

  4. July 20, 2010 02:21

    Awesome poem!! You Rock!! x

  5. July 20, 2010 03:13

    Good job. I especially like that last stanza.

  6. July 20, 2010 09:20

    This is a fresh idea, and a masterfully done piece too!
    Loved the 1st stanza wherein you have added those little chants in between.. it was absolutely MAGICAL!
    A wonderful Magpie!

    • July 20, 2010 16:59

      Thanks for your comment Kavita – I love Magpie tales cause the pictures always help me with something to write. Good exercise!

  7. July 20, 2010 09:46

    I love it. The wisom in your words is mindblowing.

  8. July 20, 2010 11:28

    Lovely Magpie and so true.

  9. July 20, 2010 13:21

    deeply meaningful..nice magpie!

  10. July 20, 2010 17:00

    Thanks, as usual, to all of you who have taken the time to comment. Mapgpie Tales is such a great prompt!

  11. July 20, 2010 19:16

    wonderful write…i really like how you closed…compassion is often hardest to give ourselves….wondering the signifigance behind the chant….

  12. July 21, 2010 01:44

    thought provoking magpie.
    excellently done!

  13. August 3, 2010 02:33

    Passing by to wish you a Beautiful August as well as a splendid week ahead.

    Cheers!

  14. August 8, 2010 19:32

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/08/08/sunday-news-flash-plus-awards/

    awards,
    poetry community information,
    plus Thursday Poets Rally announcement,..

    enjoy!
    πŸ˜‰

  15. August 11, 2010 15:08

    my sentiments exactly. beautifully said- whats the use of chanting God’s name by mere lips, while mind is busy in stockmarket.

Leave a Reply

