Skip to content

Light Touch

July 4, 2010
tags:

Here’s another poem I’ve found saved as a random file on my computer – I think it explains what I love about the actual writing of poetry, how it affords me the luxury of removing a snippet of life from it’s everyday context and allowing me to prod it with a creative stick.

Light Touch

Images from disparate selves
flicker from the box
resting eyes switching
between the colours
and the occasional twitch
of silver visible through the criss cross
of security inlaid
into the frame.

A winking eye
amongst the grass
patchy like a receding hairline
fragile yet hopeful
scarcely hiding the rotating disc
set to scare
but offering only fleeting
distraction.

Why are we drawn?

The everyday object
is made marvelous
by the flashes
of focused brilliance
piercing the distance
holding us
couch potatoes
captive;

we grow eyes
even in the dark.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 19:11

    I love this one too! Very mysterious. We do grow eyes even in the dark! It’s true.

  2. July 5, 2010 00:19

    This made me smile….nice post that resonates 🙂

  3. July 5, 2010 17:33

    just fantastic.
    “holding us
    couch potatoes
    captive;”
    i was never addicted to television, so computer settled score on me, i too sit like an addict while the pixels dance.

Leave a Reply

