Skip to content

Not

June 27, 2010
tags:

Not

I

Not every life
must be legendary
not every love story
must be epic
sometimes life is lived
in the quiet spaces.

II

The blood draws
a line around my heel
and my footstep

staines the tiles
shows I have stood,
in contemplation
at the mirror
asking myself
‘who is this?’

they look familiar.

III

Amongst the sunshine
I lose my shadow

sometimes I think
I catch a glimpse
between the trees,
like light seen
through railings
in quick succession

yet it feels less
of a sight
than a sound
an echo, I’m
smudged now
not quite what I was
decayed somehow
reeking of potential
lost somehow
amongst the skyscraper
lives of those who
surround me
shouting of my
inadequacy
whispering of who
I
could have been
poking that nook
just below my collar
bone, jabbing til
the bruise stains
my skin and spreads

forming colours like a map
too frequently checked

yet somehow always
out of date
somehow always
just
a little lost.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 02:39

    Woaah! that was AMAZING!
    (:

  2. July 1, 2010 05:11

    brims of grim- nice work!

  3. July 1, 2010 10:57

    brilliant work!

  4. July 1, 2010 15:55

    Simply visit and comment for 18 poets from my participants week 24 list,
    after you are done, comment to let me know,
    I will mark you down as complete and your poem will appear
    on Promising poets Parking lot on or by Sunday…

    have fun!

  5. July 4, 2010 13:10

    just WOW

  6. July 4, 2010 14:31

    Thanks everyone for your great comments, and to Jingle for the award 🙂

  7. July 4, 2010 16:03

    Oh my! This is just so damned real to me…I don’t know if it’s someone else poking that nook or if it’s my former shadow telling me what could have been. Well done.

    Just Say’n

  8. July 4, 2010 19:02

    It’s so beautifully written.. I loved the one

    The blood draws, a line around my heel , and my footstep
    staines the tiles , shows I have stood, in contemplation
    at the mirror asking myself ‘who is this?’
    they look familiar.

    Thank you…and it is indeed very satisfying if they look familiar..

  9. July 4, 2010 19:13

    Brilliant.

  10. July 6, 2010 00:46

    There’s a powerful amount of mystic and magic in this piece. Nice!

  11. July 6, 2010 02:47

    such emotional depth with this piece …

    peace,
    JP/deb

  12. July 9, 2010 03:20

    Feeling that one! Thank you. Wow.

Leave a Reply

