Skip to content

Heartbeats

June 20, 2010

I sit
arms hunched under
the nook of my chin
watching as the words
speak of yesterdays lived
the vision of what has been
before me, as if viewed
through slats of a blind,
left just open
enough
to let in the streaming
lazer beams
of passing cars
crazing across the ceiling
reliving what had almost been
left behind. Heartbeats
beaten
beaten
heavy chested

this has been
what I have been

seen from who I have become
in the knowledge of all
that was sacrificed
all that was chosen
everything I’ve believed in

I sit
arms hunched under
the nook of my chin
staring at the hooks of my life
wondering how they’ve managed
to remain stuck so firm
for all this time

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

