Skip to content

Father’s Day

June 20, 2010

adolescence
made life
so simple
cause
everything seemed complicated
no one understood
and least of all me

I came home
to cry every afternoon
before folding myself small enough
to hide behind the curtains
and be overlooked

if I was lucky

but then somewhere after he died
and I loved, lost, moved and
another death brought me home
things really did get difficult
to decipher

no one was easy to fathom
anymore
no one was all bad like
I’d always seen

and slowly slowly

you

emerged

tainted

difficult

caring in your own way

infuriating

but a dad of sorts
the one that outlasted them all
a dad of the sort that made sense
in the crazy maze of our family

and I finally understood
as you lay dying
that you were just the same as me
tainted
difficult
caring in your own way
infuriating

all too human

and finally
(finally)
loved.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 10:58

    Happy Belated Father’s Day to Fathers in your life…
    handsome poem!

Leave a Reply

