Skip to content

Care Unit

April 5, 2010
tags:

Divested of all those tubes,

machines and heavy breaths,

pumped with spurious life, I saw you.

My heart suspired, in whispered tones

divulging my love, a promulgation

for just you and I to hear.

Your wish was met:

We were a unit

for the first time in a decade.

The epoch.

As benevolent thoughts were sucked into

the ether, and were replaced by tears

in my hands

your warm cheeks, bloated arms

you, as you must have perceived me,

indefensible and distinct

against the sterile backdrop.

The sound of the defunct

humming around us;

closer than we had felt in years.

When my feet at last

happen upon home, I shall splutter

our love, as I chug the whiskey

which ensured your liver

was the last organ left, I shall curl up,

mirroring your forever pose,

knowing you passed

with your life,

beatified, by your side.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mandy permalink
    July 2, 2010 00:35

    “As benevolent thoughts were sucked into the ether.” This poem is real and amazing.

Leave a Reply

